Breaking News

Court Of Appeal Enugu Upholds Oye APGA Leadership, Soludo’s Candidacy, Sanctions Jude Okeke, Umeoji.

A Special Panel of the Court of Appeal sitting in Enugu and presided over by Justice Monica Dongban Mensem, has struck out the appeal filed by  Jude Okeke and Chukwuma Umeoji, challenging the judgment of Justice C C Okaa, delivered on the 19th of July, 2021 in Awka.

The Court further awarded a cost of one hundred thousand naira against Chief Okeke and in favour of Dr Victor Oye.

Justice Okaa had delivered a judgment upholding the leadership of APGA under Dr Oye, and held that the National officers of APGA elected at the National Convention of APGA held in Awka, Anambra State, are still lawfully in office and thus entitled to carry out the functions of their offices.

Recall that Chief Okeke had earlier appealed against the said judgment, which was struck out by the Court of Appeal, Awka Division in a well-considered ruling delivered on the 2nd day of August, 2021.

However, Chiefs Okeke and Umeoji, through their Lawyers, filed yet another application for leave to appeal against the judgment of Justice Okaa.

Upon receipt of the Counter affidavit of Dr Oye and Professor Soludo in opposition to their application for leave, Chiefs Okeke and Umeoji decided to surrender, leaving the Special Panel of the Court of Appeal with no further options than to dismiss the appeal.

Meanwhile, the news of the dismissal of the appeal today in Enugu by the Court has thrown members of APGA and Ndi Anambra into jubilation.

A cross section of APGA faithful interviewed were of the opinion that the instant judgment of the Court of Appeal has laid to rest the issues bordering on the validly nominated candidate of the Party for the November six governorship election.

About MediaWaves Editor

Check Also

Big Brother Titans Season 1 Begins Jan 15,2023.

MultiChoice Nigeria has announced that the maiden season of the Big Brother Titans (BBTitans) reality …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *